Children, young people and families deserve timely access to the best care experiences and a system that is easy to navigate. We not only practise quality improvement (QI) as an organization, but we also actively work to bolster our sector’s QI knowledge and know-how, to improve mental health services and outcomes.

Why quality improvement matters

QI is about striving to do better by improving the efficiency and effectiveness of activities and processes (like reducing wait times or eliminating barriers to services). Practising QI helps to quickly identify and respond to our sector’s evolving needs and to always innovate, evolve and enhance programs and services.

Leading the Quest for quality improvement

In 2020, we launched Quest, our child and youth mental health-tailored quality improvement program. We offer group learning based on Lean Six Sigma methodology and coach participating organizations through QI projects centred on system-level priorities.

Check out the Quest one-pager to learn more about the project’s latest milestones.

Browse previous projects

2021–22

In 2021, six teams began to work on QI projects broadly addressing care pathways. Project topics include improving referral practices, enhancing waitlist management and standardizing processes.

2020–21

In 2020, 10 teams joined our Quest program to work on QI projects around the theme of care pathways. Project topics include streamlining intake and triage processes and improving wait times.

Learn more about the selected projects

Want to join Quest?

We’re looking for projects that will help agencies run better and improve outcomes for clients and staff.

Interested?

Select the project option that best meets your organization’s needs (6- or 12-month option) and submit your application by 4 p.m. Monday, October 18, 2022. If selected, your project team will receive an array of supports to turn your QI idea into reality.

Apply for Quest!

Webinars

Missed out on our previous webinars? Don't worry, we've got you covered. Check out our past webinars:

QI in community mental health and addictions: Not just another buzzword

This is the first webinar in our collaborative series with the Canadian Mental Health Association, Addictions and Mental Health Ontario and Health Quality Ontario. Presenters highlight the state of transformation within the health sector, and the ongoing emphasis on quality. They also provide an overview of the role of quality improvement in the community mental health and addictions sector and share how the Excellence through Quality Improvement Project (E-QIP) supports the sector.

Watch the webinar

QI in community mental health and addictions: QI trailblazers

This is the second webinar in our collaborative series with the Canadian Mental Health Association, Addictions and Mental Health Ontario and Health Quality Ontario. Presenters share how an existing problem or opportunity can prompt an organization to initiate quality improvement work, describe what steps should be taken at the outset and discuss how data can help tell the story.

Watch the webinar

QI culture: Pro tips from the field

This is the third and final webinar in our collaborative series with the Canadian Mental Health Association, Addictions and Mental Health Ontario and Health Quality Ontario. Presenters help viewers gain a deeper understanding of what it means to foster a culture of continuous quality improvement, identify tools and techniques for assessing quality improvement culture and invite community mental health and addictions agencies to share what this looks like in practice.

Watch the webinar

Les enfants, les jeunes et les familles méritent les meilleurs soins, en temps opportun, et un système de santé dans lequel il est facile de se retrouver. À titre d’organisme, non seulement nous nous employons à améliorer la qualité (AQ) mais aussi nous travaillons activement à renforcer les savoirs et savoir-faire en matière d’AQ dans notre secteur, pour de meilleurs services et résultats.

Importance de l’amélioration de la qualité

L’AQ vise à faire mieux en augmentant l’efficience et l’efficacité des activités et des processus (par exemple en réduisant les temps d’attente ou en supprimant les obstacles aux services). L’AQ aide à cerner et à combler rapidement les besoins en évolution dans notre secteur et à toujours innover, évoluer et améliorer les programmes et les services.

À la Quête de l’amélioration de la qualité

Lancé en 2020, le programme d’amélioration de la qualité Quête a été développé sur mesure pour répondre aux besoins du secteur de la santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes. Il offre un apprentissage en groupe fondé sur la méthodologie Lean Six Sigma et des services d’accompagnement aux organismes participants au cours de projets d’AQ axés sur les priorités du système.

Consultez le document d’une page sur la Quête pour en savoir plus sur les dernières étapes du projet.

Parcourir les projets précédents

2021–2022

En 2021, six équipes ont démarré des projets d’AQ portant sur des voies d’accès aux soins. Les projets portent entre autres sur l’amélioration des méthodes d’aiguillage, l’amélioration de la gestion des listes d’attente et la normalisation des méthodes.

2020–2021

En 2020, 10 équipes se sont jointes au programme Quête afin de démarrer des projets d’AQ portant sur les voies d’accès aux soins. Les projets portaient entre autres sur la rationalisation des méthodes d’admission et de triage et la réduction des temps d’attente.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les projets retenus.

Désirez-vous participer au programme Quête?

Nous cherchons des projets qui aideront les organismes à mieux performer et à améliorer les résultats pour la clientèle et le personnel.

Cela vous intéresse?

Sélectionnez l’option de projet qui répond le mieux aux besoins de votre organisation (de 6 ou de 12 mois) et soumettez votre demande d’ici 16 h, le lundi 18 octobre 2022. Si vous êtes sélectionné, votre équipe de projet recevra un éventail de mesures de soutien pour concrétiser votre idée d’amélioration de la qualité.

Posez votre candidature au programme Quête!

Webinaires

Vous avez raté nos précédents webinaires? Ne vous en faites pas! Vous pouvez visionner les enregistrements suivants :

QI in community mental health and addiction: Not just another buzzword

Il s’agit du premier webinaire de notre série collaborative avec l’Association canadienne pour la santé mentale, Dépendances & santé mentale d’Ontario et Qualité des services de santé Ontario. Les conférencier.ère.s soulignent l’état de la transformation dans le secteur de la santé et l’importance continue accordée à la qualité. Leur présentation vise à donner un aperçu du rôle de l’amélioration de la qualité dans le secteur communautaire de la santé mentale et de la toxicomanie et à expliquer comment l’initiative E-QIP (Excellence par l’amélioration de la qualité) appuie le secteur.

Visionnez le webinaire (en anglais seulement)

QI in community mental health and addictions: QI trailblazers

Il s’agit du deuxième webinaire de notre série collaborative avec l’Association canadienne pour la santé mentale, Dépendances & santé mentale d’Ontario et Qualité des services de santé Ontario. Les conférencier.ère.s expliquent comment une occasion ou un problème existant peut inciter un organisme à entreprendre un travail d’amélioration de la qualité, décrivent les mesures à prendre dès le départ et discutent de la façon dont les données peuvent aider à raconter l’histoire.

Visionnez le webinaire (en anglais seulement)

QI culture: Pro tips from the field

Il s’agit du troisième et dernier webinaire de notre série collaborative avec l’Association canadienne pour la santé mentale, Dépendances & santé mentale d’Ontario et Qualité des services de santé Ontario. Les conférencier.ère.s permettent aux participant.e.s d’acquérir une meilleure connaissance de ce que signifie favoriser une culture d’amélioration continue de la qualité, de déterminer les outils et les techniques à utiliser pour évaluer la culture d’amélioration de la qualité, et d’écouter des organismes communautaires de santé mentale et de lutte contre les dépendances à expliquer ce à quoi cela ressemble dans la pratique.

Visionnez le webinaire (en anglais seulement)