Addressing complex needs is a priority focus area for us and our key system partners, including the child and youth mental health Lead Agency Consortium.

Why complex needs and intensive services matter

Some children or young people experience significant, multiple, rare or persistent mental health challenges that can impact their functioning at home, at school and in the community. Some have other conditions or challenges that impact the services they require, like developmental disabilities or substance use issues. Family socio-economic status and involvement in the child welfare and youth justice sectors can also add to the complexity of a young person’s situation.
Such needs often require intensive services, or more comprehensive or sustained interventions. There’s always been a need for evidence and services geared toward these complex issues — families have a hard time finding high quality treatment for young people with more significant needs. This is even more critical now, as the number of children and young people with complex needs has grown throughout the pandemic and their needs have become more acute.

Provincial training initiative

Through our participation on the steering committee, we provide evidence, implementation and evaluation supports for the provincial training initiative. This initiative is led by the child and youth mental health Lead Agency Consortium who is working to expand the range of intensive treatment options available throughout Ontario by equipping more direct service providers with the knowledge and skills they need to address complex needs through training, clinical supervision and a community of practice.

Resources

Mental health implications of undiagnosed learning disabilities among children and young people

Nearly 25% of young Canadians with disabilities of any kind have concurrent mental health-related disabilities and learning disabilities. The association between learning disabilities and mental health challenges is well documented, but what does the evidence show about the mental health implications for children and young people with undiagnosed learning disabilities? How does a diagnosis — or lack thereof — impact self-perception, educator and service provider perceptions and service effectiveness? This document probes these questions and more.

Read the evidence summary

Homelessness and young people’s mental health

Three quarters of young people experiencing homelessness in Canada report high psychological distress. The pandemic has interrupted many services for these young people and increased demand for mental health services across the board. With that in mind, we wanted to get a better sense of the mental health issues young people experiencing homeless face, who is at greatest risk for mental health and substance use problems and the types of interventions that can help. This document compiles evidence from literature published between 2016 and 2021.

Read the evidence summary

Répondre aux besoins complexes est une priorité pour nous et nos principaux partenaires systémiques, y compris le Consortium des organismes responsables du soutien en santé mentale chez les enfants et les jeunes (SMEJ).

Importance des besoins complexes et des services intensifs

Certains enfants ou jeunes sont aux prises avec des problèmes de santé mentale importants, multiples, rares ou persistants qui peuvent avoir une incidence sur leur capacité à fonctionner à la maison, à l’école et au sein de la communauté. D’autres éprouvent différents problèmes ou difficultés, comme des déficiences sur le plan du développement ou des problèmes de toxicomanie, qui ont une incidence sur les services dont ils ont besoin. Le statut socioéconomique de la famille et l’implication dans les secteurs de la protection de l’enfance et de la justice pour la jeunesse peuvent également accroître la complexité de la situation que vit un.e jeune.

Ces problèmes exigent souvent le recours à des services intensifs ou à des interventions plus globales ou soutenues. Il y a toujours eu un besoin de données probantes et de services axés sur ces questions complexes. En effet, les familles ont de la difficulté à trouver des soins de premier choix à prodiguer à leurs jeunes aux besoins plus importants. La situation est encore plus critique maintenant, car le nombre d’enfants et de jeunes ayant des besoins complexes a augmenté tout au long de la pandémie, et leurs besoins se sont intensifiés.

Initiative de formation provinciale

Grâce à notre participation au Comité directeur, nous fournissons des données probantes ainsi que de l’aide à la mise en œuvre et à l’évaluation de l’initiative de formation provinciale. Cette initiative est dirigée par le Consortium des organismes responsables du soutien en SMEJ, qui s’efforce d’élargir la gamme d’options de traitement intensif offertes dans l’ensemble de l’Ontario en dotant un plus grand nombre de prestataires de services directs des connaissances et des compétences nécessaires pour répondre à des besoins complexes par les moyens suivants : formation, supervision clinique et communauté de pratique.

Ressources

Incidences des troubles d’apprentissage non diagnostiqués sur la santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes

Près de 25 % des jeunes Canadien.ne.s avec incapacité ont à la fois une incapacité liée à la santé mentale et une incapacité liée à l’apprentissage. Le lien entre les troubles d’apprentissage et les problèmes de santé mentale est bien documenté, mais que révèlent les données probantes sur les incidences sur la santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes qui ont des troubles d’apprentissage non diagnostiqués? Comment un diagnostic, ou son absence, influe-t-il sur la perception de soi, les perceptions des éducateur.trice.s et des prestataires de services, ainsi que l’efficacité des services? Le présent document aborde ces questions et bien d’autres.

Lire le sommaire de données probantes

Itinérance et santé mentale chez les jeunes

Les trois quarts des jeunes sans-abri au Canada sont en état de détresse psychologique élevée. La pandémie a interrompu de nombreux services pour ces jeunes et a fait augmenter la demande de services de santé mentale dans l’ensemble. Dans cette optique, nous voulions avoir une meilleure idée des problèmes de santé mentale auxquels font face les jeunes sans-abri, soit ceux et celles qui sont les plus à risque de problèmes de santé mentale et de toxicomanie, et des types d’interventions qui peuvent aider. Le présent document compile des données probantes issues de documents publiés entre 2016 et 2021.

Lire le sommaire de données probantes