We’re working alongside others in our sector to build a more inclusive and equitable mental health and addictions system for all children, young people and families.

Why equity, diversity and inclusion matter

There are many inequities and disparities that make it more challenging to access quality mental health and addictions care and often lead to poorer health outcomes. Overt prejudice and discrimination, implicit biases, systemic blind spots and social determinants of health — the conditions and environments in which people grow, learn, live and work — all influence when, where and how people seek and access care. These factors can also impact service offerings and care experiences negatively.

Working together to foster equity, diversity and inclusion, we can improve mental health outcomes and contribute to a better quality of life for all people.

Apply for funding

Ready to advance racial equity? In Overview of culturally adapted programs, we learned that making culturally responsive programs more accessible could lead to better mental health outcomes for racialized children and young people. Now it’s time to put that knowledge to the test!

We’re offering Innovation Initiatives grants — up to $75,000 each — to support project ideas that pilot, scale, or evaluate culturally responsive programs for racialized clients. Project proposals are due by Thursday, December 15, at 4 p.m. This initiative is one way our sector can advance racial equity together. Learn more about the eligibility requirements and apply.

Watch the recording of our recent webinar to learn more about centering culture to meet the needs of racialized children and young people. 

Advancing racial equity

Agencies have long worked to address inequities affecting racialized children, young people and families within their organizations, but coordinated efforts are needed to build an observably more equitable mental health care system. In 2021, we collaborated with Children’s Mental Health Ontario to begin to lay the groundwork for our sector’s collective next steps.

  • First, we developed a literature review highlighting the best available research and practices that could be adopted to advance racial equity.
  • Next, we surveyed our sector to get a snapshot of current racial equity efforts and produced “We journey together”, a report that identifies existing gaps and pinpoints promising practices, tools and resources that can be leveraged to foster equity. 
  • Most recently, we produced resources focusing on collecting and using race-based data and adapting programs to better meet the needs of racialized children and young people.

Additional resources

Intergenerational trauma

Trauma that is experienced by one generation may be transferred to subsequent generations, impacting overall health and well-being. This trauma is often transmitted through parenting and caregiving practices, family functioning and communication patterns shaped by experiences of trauma (e.g. residential school experiences, refugee experiences, physical or sexual abuse) and exposure to parents’ coping mechanisms and challenges.

This tip sheet, created for Good2Talk staff, identifies protective factors that can prevent transmission of trauma from one generation to the next and presents strategies to support young people to heal.

Read the tip sheet

Quality standards for youth and family engagement

Diversity and inclusion is a core principle in both of the engagement quality standards we co-developed with clinicians, researchers, young people and families. This principle emphasizes that high-quality engagement is representative of the communities served and that high quality engagement practices are inclusive and culturally sensitive.

Two other principles in the quality standard for youth engagement —accessibility and safer spaces—also speak to an underpinning value for equity and inclusion.

Raising the bar for 2SLGBTQ+ young people

2SLBTQI+ people often experience stigma and discrimination that not only contribute to their higher risk for many mental health and substance use issues but can also make it more challenging to access services.

We were one of several partners consulted as Wisdom2Action set out to create resources to help guide youth-serving organizations and their 2SLGBTQI+ inclusion efforts.

Access the resources

Peer-reviewed publications

Canadian Psychology, July 2022

Article title: Advancing racial equity, diversity and inclusion in Ontario’s child and youth mental health sector: Perspectives of agency leaders.

Read the article

Abstract: Systematic challenges in providing culturally responsive mental health and addictions services have produced widespread inequities for racialized service providers, clients, and communities. There is a pressing need for coordinated system-level change. In this article, we present findings from a cross-sectional mixed methods study examining current organizational practices in advancing racial equity in the child and youth mental health and addictions sector in Ontario. To understand current efforts and identify a path forward, we surveyed executive leaders from 102 agencies and conducted case studies with 10 agencies on their practices along five domains: organizational leadership, intersectoral partnerships, workforce diversity and development, client and community engagement, and continuous improvements. Leaders shared a strong desire to advance racial equity and had begun this work to varying degrees. Our findings, in particular the domains examined and barriers and facilitators, can inform parallel efforts in related sectors across Canada and internationally.

Administration and Policy in Mental Health and Mental Health Services, July 2021

Article title: Moving toward racial equity in the child and youth mental health sector in Ontario, Canada

Read the article

Abstract: In the aftermath of high-profile incidents involving Black, Indigenous and People of Color (BIPOC) in North America, there is a growing awareness of the pervasiveness of systemic racism and the role that agencies play in perpetuating racism and racial inequities. In the child and youth mental health sector, the journey to improving racial equity is impeded by a lack of consistent frameworks or guidelines. In this commentary, we explore five domains of organizational practices that are prominent in the literature and support diverse clients, communities and staff, including: (1) organizational leadership and commitment, (2) inter-organizational and multisectoral partnerships, (3) workforce diversity and development, (4) client and community needs and engagement and (5) continuous improvement. As we highlight these domains, we urge researchers, policy makers, and child and youth mental health service providers to work together to advance racial equity in meaningful ways.

Nous travaillons aux côtés d’autres intervenant.e.s de notre secteur pour bâtir un système de soins de santé mentale et de lutte contre les dépendances plus inclusif et équitable pour les enfants, les jeunes et les familles.

Pourquoi l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion sont importantes

De nombreuses inégalités et disparités rendent l’accès aux soins de santé mentale et de lutte contre les dépendances plus difficile et mènent souvent à de moins bons résultats en matière de santé. La discrimination manifeste, les préjugés ouverts et implicites, les angles morts systémiques et les déterminants sociaux de la santé (les conditions et les milieux dans lesquels les gens grandissent, apprennent, vivent et travaillent) ont tous une influence sur le moment et l’endroit où les gens cherchent et obtiennent des soins, et la façon dont ils le font. Ces facteurs peuvent également avoir une incidence négative sur les offres de services et les expériences de soins.

En travaillant ensemble pour favoriser l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion, nous pouvons améliorer les résultats en matière de santé mentale et contribuer à une meilleure qualité de vie pour tous.

Faire progresser l’équité raciale

Les organismes travaillent depuis longtemps à remédier aux inégalités qui touchent les enfants, les jeunes et les familles racialisés au sein de leurs organismes, mais des efforts concertés sont nécessaires pour bâtir un système de soins de santé mentale plus équitable. En 2021, nous avons collaboré avec Santé mentale pour enfants Ontario (Children’s Mental Health Ontario) pour commencer à jeter les bases des prochaines étapes à mettre en œuvre collectivement dans notre secteur.

  • Premièrement, nous avons réalisé une revue de la littérature mettant en lumière les meilleures recherches et pratiques actuelles qui pourraient être adoptées pour faire progresser l’équité raciale.
  • Ensuite, nous avons sondé notre secteur pour avoir un aperçu des efforts actuellement déployés en matière d’équité raciale puis produit le rapport « Cheminons ensemble », qui cerne les lacunes existantes et met en évidence les pratiques, les ressources et les outils prometteurs qui peuvent être mis à profit pour favoriser l’équité.
  • Plus récemment, nous avons produit un guide sur la façon de recueillir et d’analyser des données fondées sur la race et une fiche-conseil expliquant comment et pourquoi dépersonnaliser les données.

Ressources supplémentaires

Traumatisme intergénérationnel

Le traumatisme subi par une génération peut être transmis aux générations suivantes, affectant ainsi leur santé et leur bien-être en général. Ce traumatisme est souvent transmis par les pratiques des parents et des figures parentales, le fonctionnement de la famille et les habitudes de communication façonnées par les expériences de traumatisme (p. ex., l’expérience des pensionnats indiens, être un réfugié et la violence physique ou sexuelle) et l’exposition aux mécanismes d’adaptation et aux défis des parents.

Cette fiche-conseil, créée pour le personnel d’Allo J’écoute, définit les facteurs de protection qui peuvent prévenir la transmission intergénérationnelle du traumatisme et présente des stratégies pour aider les jeunes à guérir.

Lire la fiche-conseil

Normes de qualité pour l’engagement des jeunes et des familles

La diversité et l’inclusion sont des principes fondamentaux des deux normes de qualité pour l’engagement que nous avons élaborées conjointement avec des clinicien.ne.s, des chercheur.se.s, des jeunes et des familles. Ce principe souligne que l’engagement de grande qualité est représentatif des communautés qui en bénéficient, et que les pratiques d’engagement de grande qualité sont inclusives et adaptées à la culture.

Deux autres principes de la norme de qualité pour l’engagement des jeunes – l’accessibilité et des espaces plus sûrs – sont également à la base de l’équité et l’inclusion.

 Hausser la barre pour les jeunes de la communauté 2SLGBTQI+

Les personnes 2SLGBTQI+ sont souvent victimes de stigmatisation et de discrimination qui non seulement contribuent à un risque plus élevé d’être confrontées à de nombreux problèmes de santé mentale et de toxicomanie, mais peuvent aussi rendre leur accès aux services plus difficile.

Nous avons été l’un des nombreux partenaires consultés par l’organisme Wisdom2Action, qui a entrepris de créer des ressources pour guider les organismes au service des jeunes et leurs efforts d’inclusion des personnes 2SLGBTQI+.

Accéder aux ressources

Publications évaluées par les pairs

Canadian Psychology — Psychologie canadienne, juillet 2022

Titre de l’article : Advancing racial equity, diversity and inclusion in Ontario’s child and youth mental health sector: Perspectives of agency leaders.

Lire l’article

Résumé : Les défis systématiques liés à la prestation de services de santé mentale et de lutte contre les dépendances adaptés à la culture ont engendré des inégalités généralisées pour les prestataires de services, la clientèle et les communautés racialisés. Il existe un besoin pressant d’apporter des changements coordonnés à l’échelle du système. Dans cet article, nous présentons les résultats d’une étude transversale de méthodes mixtes portant sur les pratiques organisationnelles actuelles pour promouvoir l’équité raciale dans le secteur de la santé mentale et de la lutte contre les dépendances chez les enfants et les jeunes de l’Ontario. Afin d’en savoir plus sur les efforts actuels déployés et de déterminer la marche à suivre, nous avons interrogé les cadres de direction de 102 organismes et mené des études de cas auprès de 10 d’entre eux sur leurs pratiques dans cinq domaines : le leadership organisationnel, les partenariats intersectoriels, la diversité et le perfectionnement de la main-d’œuvre, l’engagement de la clientèle et de la communauté, et l’amélioration continue. Nous avons appris que les cadres, qui partageaient un vif désir de promouvoir l’équité raciale, avaient commencé à le faire à divers degrés. Les résultats que nous avons obtenus, en particulier ceux en lien avec les domaines examinés, les défis et les facilitateur.trice.s, peuvent éclairer les efforts parallèles entrepris dans des secteurs connexes à l’échelle nationale et internationale.

Administration and Policy in Mental Health and Mental Health Services, Juillet 2021

Titre de l’article : Moving toward racial equity in the child and youth mental health sector in Ontario, Canada

Lire l’article

Résumé : À la suite d’incidents très médiatisés mettant en cause des personnes autochtones, noires et de couleur en Amérique du Nord, nous sommes de plus en plus conscients de l’omniprésence du racisme systémique et du rôle que jouent les organismes dans la perpétuation du racisme et des inégalités raciales. Dans le secteur de la santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes, l’absence de lignes directrices ou de cadres cohérents nuit au cheminement vers l’amélioration de l’équité raciale. Dans ce commentaire, nous explorons cinq domaines de pratiques organisationnelles qui figurent explicitement dans la documentation et qui soutiennent des communautés, des employé.e.s et des client.e.s divers.e.s, notamment : (1) le leadership et l’engagement organisationnels, (2) les partenariats interorganisationnels et multisectoriels, (3) la diversité et le perfectionnement de l’effectif, (4) la mobilisation et les besoins des client.e.s et de la communauté et (5) l’amélioration continue. Alors que nous soulignons ces domaines, nous exhortons les chercheur.euse.s, les décideur.euse.s et les prestataires de services de santé mentale aux enfants et aux jeunes à collaborer pour faire progresser l’équité raciale de façon significative.