Our strategic advisory council (the Council) provides us with advice, direction and input on strategic plans, partnership initiatives and other high-level operations that advance our work toward achieving our vision, mission and strategic goals.

Member responsibilities

The Council meets four times a year, often in person. Members are committed for a two-year term.
Council duties include:

  • working with our leadership team to set strategic priorities and directions
  • contributing to generative discussions to advance the relevance and impact of our work
  • reviewing and advising on our annual operating plans and budgets
  • reviewing quarterly performance reports
  • providing input into our executive director's performance appraisals

Meet the Council

Council members include:

  • young people with lived experience with mental health challenges or mental illness
  • parents or family members of a child or youth with mental health challenges or mental illness
  • organizational decision makers from the child and youth mental health sector
  • individuals with relevant experience in finance and management

 

Portrait of Louis Doyle

Louis Doyle (Chair)

CHEO Board of Directors

Louis Doyle is retired from the federal government, with more than 30 years of experience in marketing, policy and program development related to regional economic development, infrastructure and official languages. He has served on multiple school councils, the School Board Parent Involvement Committee and the boards of directors for a local treatment centre for addictions and concurrent disorders and the Ottawa Children’s Treatment Centre. Since his retirement, Louis has been actively involved with CHEO’s board of directors and several of its committees.

Placeholder portrait

Alisha Tharani

Chief Executive Officer, 
Addictions and Mental Health  Ontario 

Coming soon!

Portrait of Andrea Roberts

Andrea Roberts

Chief Executive Officer, Hands TheFamilyHelpNetwork.ca

Andrea Roberts is a collaborative, results-based leader with more than 30 years of experience in public health. This includes two decades of senior-level management and participation in several local, regional and provincial initiatives. Andrea holds a BSc in nursing and a master's degree in personal, social and health education. She brings a demonstrated passion for system change, valuable skills in systems leadership and governance, and extensive knowledge related to mental health promotion, social determinants of health, early years and complex special needs.

Portrait of Anvita Desai

Anvita Desai

Youth Representative

Anvita Desai is studying knowledge integration and cognitive science at the University of Waterloo. She is passionate about working in the mental health sector and has volunteered with us since she was 15! After graduating, Avita plans to pursue a master’s degree in social work and hopes to continue to dedicate her time and efforts to initiatives that value youth engagement, health equity, harm reduction and accessibility. In her free time, Anvita enjoys reading, swimming and listening to true crime podcasts.

Portrait of Amanda McGraw

Christina Robert

Youth Representative

Christina Robert is studying kinesiology at Laurentian University and hopes to become a dermatologist. She has been involved in student council and peer mentoring in university and worked with organizations like the Track North Athletic Club. As a competitive athlete, Christina experienced her own mental health challenges and witnessed how mental health concerns impacted other young people in school, sports and day-to-day life. She is now passionate about helping friends, peers and family members become the best version of themselves. As a hobby, Christina likes capturing beautiful moments through photography.

Portrait of Ekua Asabea Blair

 Ekua Asabea Blair

Chief Executive Officer,
Massey Centre for Women

Ekua Asabea Blair is the chief executive officer of the Massey Centre for Women, a client-centred infant and early childhood mental health organization providing support for pregnant and parenting adolescents and their children. Prior to joining the Massey Centre, Ekua worked as the executive director of the Rexdale Community Health Centre for nine years. She also worked as the interim executive director of the Davenport-Perth Neighbourhood Centre, where she was instrumental in establishing the Nighana African-Centered Program in partnership with the Toronto District School Board. Her work with low-income women in Rexdale was recognized by the City of Toronto in 2002, when she received the Constance E. Hamilton Award.

Portrait of Joanne Lowe

 Joanne Lowe

Vice-President,
Mental Health and Addictions, CHEO

Executive Director,
Youth Services Bureau of Ottawa

Joanne holds a BSW from Laurentian University and an MSW from Wilfred Laurier University and has extensive experience in the field of mental health. Prior to joining YSB, Joanne spent nearly a decade each as manager of the community division of CHEO’s specialized psychiatric and mental health services and executive director of the Canadian Mental Health Association Ottawa Branch.

Joanne’s impact — locally, provincially and nationally — is astounding! In recent years, she has co-chaired or chaired the cross-sectoral committee in mental health and education, the provincial framework advisory committee for child and youth mental health, the Ottawa Suicide Prevention Network, the Provincial Lead Agency Consortium and the Provincial Priorities Standing Committee.

A big believer in continuous quality improvement, Joanne is currently working on her LEAN black belt certification.

Portrait of Joe Holubowich

Joe Holubowich

Family representative

Joe Holubowich works as a peer support facilitator for Parents’ Lifelines of Eastern Ontario (PLEO), does contract work for Able2 and is on his way to becoming a counsellor and psychotherapist. As a foster parent for two children who came into his care with undiagnosed mental health challenges, Joe has first-hand experience of navigating the mental healthcare system and advocating for services through the education system. He also currently sits as a board member for the Royal Ottawa Volunteer Association.

Placeholder portrait

 Dr. Jude Mary Cénat 

Academic researcher and clinical psychologist,
University of Ottawa 

Coming soon!

Portrait of Kelly-Lynn Musico

Kelly-Lynn Musico

Family representative

Kelly-Lynn Musico is a physiotherapist, yoga teacher and mom to three young adults. Along with her lived experience as a family member in the child and youth mental health sector, Kelly-Lynn brings extensive experience in the hospital, home care, school and private sectors and a long track record as a dedicated volunteer. She currently contributes her voice to a national mental health research project and several family advisory councils at both the local and provincial levels.

Portrait of Kirsten Dougherty

Kirsten Dougherty

Chief Executive Officer, 
ROCK Reach Out Centre for Kids

Kirsten Dougherty is a change leader with over 25 years of experience in the child and youth mental health sector. She’s the CEO for ROCK, Reach Out Center for Kids — lead agency for the Region of Halton — and co-chair of both the Lead Agency Consortium and One Stop Talk, the provincial walk-in service. Kirsten specializes in organizational behaviour and negotiations. She’s completed seven successful mergers or acquisitions and led multiple executive teams through re-branding, strategic planning and concept execution for innovation acceleration.

Portrait of Lori Kempe

 Lori Kempe

Executive Director,
Children First in Essex County

Lori holds a BSW from University of Windsor and an MSW from Eastern Michigan University. She is also an alumna of St. Clair College, sign language communicator and interpreter training programs.

Lori has held a variety of positions in children’s mental health, developmental services and child welfare in Windsor-Essex and Chatham-Kent Communities. She has also been employed with the provincial government and conducted compliance and licensing reviews for both adult and children’s service agencies within southwestern Ontario. Lori currently enjoys the learning and networking opportunities as an accreditation reviewer with the Canadian Centre for Accreditation.

Lori has extensive governance experience having been on the St. Clair College board of governors for six years including serving as vice-chair in her final year. In 2020 Lori was one of six St. Clair College Alumni of Distinction award recipients.

Lori spends her free time cheering on her two boys either on the soccer field or at the swimming pool. The entire family is active with Epilepsy Southwestern Ontario – Windsor Region to raise awareness about epilepsy.

Portrait of Michael Hone

 Michael Hone 

Executive Director,
Crossroads Childen’s Mental Health 

Michael has been working in child and adolescent services since 1988 in a variety of settings, including child welfare, youth justice, education and child and youth mental health. He has been with Crossroads Children’s Mental Health Centre (CCMHC) since 1996, and has been the executive director since January 2015. Michael has completed his Black Belt in Lean and continues his Lean journey at CCMHC.

Notre conseil consultatif stratégique (le Conseil) nous fournit des conseils, une orientation et des commentaires sur les plans stratégiques, les initiatives de partenariat et d'autres activités de haut niveau qui font progresser notre travail.

Les responsabilités des membres

Le Conseil se réunit quatre fois par an, souvent en personne. Les membres s'engagent pour un mandat de deux ans. Les fonctions du Conseil comprennent les suivantes :

  • travailler avec notre équipe de direction pour établir les priorités et les orientations stratégiques;
  • contribuer à des discussions génératives pour faire progresser la pertinence et l'impact de notre travail;
  • examiner nos plans et nos budgets d'exploitation annuels et formuler des conseils à ces égards;
  • examiner les rapports trimestriels sur le rendement;
  • contribuer à l'évaluation du rendement de notre directrice générale.

À la rencontre de notre Conseil

Les personnes suivantes figurent parmi les membres de notre Conseil :

  • des jeunes qui ont eu une expérience avec des problèmes de santé mentale ou une maladie mentale;
  • des parents ou des membres de la famille d'un.e enfant ou d'un.e jeune ayant des problèmes de santé mentale ou une maladie mentale;
  • des décideur.se.s organisationnels du secteur de la santé mentale et de la lutte contre les dépendances chez les enfants et les jeunes;
  • des personnes ayant une expérience pertinente, notamment en finances et en gestion.

Portrait de Louis Doyle

Louis Doyle (Président)

Conseil d'administration du CHEO

Louis Doyle, qui a pris sa retraite du gouvernement fédéral, possède plus de 30 ans d’expérience en marketing, en élaboration de politiques et de programmes liés au développement économique régional, à l’infrastructure et aux langues officielles. Il a siégé au sein de plusieurs conseils d'école, au Comité de participation des parents du conseil scolaire et aux conseils d’administration d’un centre local de traitement des dépendances et des troubles concomitants, ainsi qu’au Centre de traitement pour enfants d’Ottawa. Depuis sa retraite, Louis participe activement au conseil d’administration du CHEO et à plusieurs de ses comités.

Portrait vierge

 Alisha Tharani

Directrice générale,
Dépendances & santé mentale d'Ontario

À venir...

Portrait d'Andrea Roberts

Andrea Roberts

Présidente-directrice générale, Mains LeReseaudaideauxfamilles.ca

Andrea Roberts est une leader axée sur la collaboration et les résultats qui compte plus de 30 ans d’expérience en santé publique, dont deux décennies de gestion à un poste supérieur et de participation à plusieurs initiatives locales, régionales et provinciales. Andrea est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en sciences infirmières et d’une maîtrise en éducation personnelle, sociale et de santé. Elle possède une passion manifeste pour le changement du système, de précieuses compétences en leadership et en gouvernance des systèmes, ainsi que de vastes connaissances liées à la promotion de la santé mentale, aux déterminants sociaux de la santé, à la petite enfance et aux besoins spéciaux complexes.

Portrait d'Anvita Desai

Anvita Desai
Représentante des jeunes

Anvita Desai étudie en intégration du savoir et en sciences cognitives à l’Université de Waterloo. Elle a une passion pour la santé mentale et est bénévole avec nous depuis l’âge de 15 ans! Lorsqu’elle aura obtenu son diplôme, Avita prévoit poursuivre ses études de maîtrise en service social et espère continuer à consacrer son temps et ses efforts à des initiatives favorisant l’engagement des jeunes, l’équité en santé, la réduction des méfaits et l’accessibilité. Dans ses temps libres, Anvita aime lire, nager et écouter desbaladoscrime-réalité.

Portrait de Christina Robert

Christina Robert

Représentante des jeunes

Christina Robert étudie en kinésiologie à l’Université Laurentienne et espère devenir dermatologue. Elle a fait partie d’un conseil étudiant et d’un programme de mentorat par les pairs à l’université, et elle a travaillé avec des organismes comme le Track North Athletic Club. En tant qu’athlète de compétition, Christina a connu ses propres problèmes de santé mentale et a été témoin des répercussions de tels problèmes sur d’autres jeunes à l’école, dans les sports et dans la vie quotidienne. Elle a maintenant à cœur d’aider ses amis, ses pairs et les membres de sa famille à devenir la meilleure version d’eux-mêmes. Dans ses passe-temps, Christina aime photographier les beaux moments. 

Portrait de Ekua Asabea Blair

Ekua Asabea Blair

Directrice générale,
Massey Centre for Women

Ekua Asabea Blair est la directrice générale du Massey Centre for Women, un organisme de santé mentale pour les nourrissons et les jeunes enfants, qui offre du soutien aux adolescentes enceintes et aux adolescentes qui élèvent leurs enfants. Avant de se joindre au Massey Centre, Ekua a travaillé comme directrice générale du Centre de santé communautaire Rexdale pendant neuf ans. Elle a également occupé le poste de directrice générale par intérim du Davenport-Perth Neighbourhood Centre, où elle a joué un rôle déterminant dans la création du programme Nighana centré sur l’Afrique, en partenariat avec le Toronto District School Board. Son travail auprès des femmes à faible revenu à Rexdale a été reconnu par la Ville de Toronto en 2002, lorsqu’elle a reçu le prix Constance E. Hamilton.

Portrait de Joanne Lowe

Joanne Lowe

Vice-présidente,
Santé mentale et lutte contre les dépendances, CHEO

Directrice générale,
ureau des services à la jeunesse d’Ottawa

Joanne est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en service social de l’Université Laurentienne et d’une maîtrise en service social de l’Université Wilfrid Laurier, et possède une vaste expérience dans le domaine de la santé mentale. Avant de se joindre au Bureau des services à la jeunesse, Joanne a travaillé comme gestionnaire de la division communautaire des services spécialisés en psychiatrie et en santé mentale du CHEO et comme directrice générale de la succursale d’Ottawa de l’Association canadienne pour la santé mentale pendant près d’une décennie à chacune de ces organisations.

L’influence de Joanne, à l’échelle locale, provinciale et nationale, est impressionnante! Au cours des dernières années, elle a présidé ou coprésidé le comité intersectoriel sur la santé mentale et l’éducation, le comité consultatif du cadre provincial sur la santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents, le réseau communautaire de prévention du suicide d’Ottawa, le consortium provincial des organismes et le comité permanent provincial sur les priorités.

Joanne croit fermement à l’amélioration continue de la qualité et elle travaille actuellement à l’obtention de sa certification Ceinture noire Lean.

Portrait de Joe Holubowich

Joe Hulobowich
Réprésentant des familles

Joe Holubowich travaille comme animateur de soutien par les pairs pour la Parents’ Lifelines of Eastern Ontario (ligne d’aide aux parents de l’Est de l’Ontario), fait du travail à contrat pour Able2 (Aptitudes Bienveillance Liberté Engagé) et est en voie de devenir conseiller et psychothérapeute. En tant que parent d’accueil de deux enfants qui lui ont été confiés avec des problèmes de santé mentale non diagnostiqués, Joe a une expérience directe de la navigation dans le système de soins de santé mentale et de la promotion des services par l’entremise du système d’éducation. Il siège également au conseil d’administration de l’association des bénévoles pour Le Royal Ottawa (centre de santé mentale).

Portrait vierge

Dr Jude Mary Cénat

Chercheur universitaire et psychologue clinicien
Université d'Ottawa

À venir...

Portrait de Kelly-Lynn Musico

Kelly-Lynn Musico

Réprésentante des familles

Kelly-Lynn Musico est physiothérapeute, professeure de yoga et mère de trois jeunes adultes. En plus de son expérience vécue en tant que membre de la famille dans le secteur de la santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents, Kelly-Lynn possède une vaste expérience dans les secteurs hospitalier, des soins à domicile, scolaire et privé ainsi qu’une longue expérience en tant que bénévole dévouée. Elle participe actuellement à un projet national de recherche en santé mentale et à plusieurs conseils consultatifs familiaux à l’échelle locale et provinciale.

Portrait vierge

Kirsten Dougherty

Directrice générale,
ROCK Reach out Centre for Kids

À venir...

Portrait de Lori Kempe

Lori Kempe

Directrice générale,
Children First in Essex County

Lori est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en service social de l’Université de Windsor et d’une maîtrise en service social de la Eastern Michigan University. Elle est également diplômée des programmes de formation en communication en langue des signes et en interprétation du St. Clair College.

Lori a occupé divers postes dans les domaines de la santé mentale des enfants, des services de développement et de la protection de l’enfance dans les communautés de Windsor-Essex et de Chatham-Kent. De plus, elle a travaillé pour le gouvernement provincial et mené des examens de conformité et de délivrance de licences pour des organismes de services aux adultes et aux enfants dans la région du sud-ouest de l’Ontario. Elle est actuellement examinatrice de l’agrément au Centre canadien de l’agrément, ce qui lui permet de profiter d’occasions d’apprentissage et de réseautage.

Lori possède une vaste expérience de la gouvernance, puisqu’elle a siégé au conseil d’administration du St. Clair College pendant six ans, notamment à titre de vice-présidente au cours de sa dernière année. En 2020, elle a été l’une des six lauréates du prix de distinction des diplômés du St. Clair College.

Lori passe son temps libre à encourager ses deux fils sur le terrain de soccer ou à la piscine. Toute la famille est active auprès de l’organisme Epilepsy Southwestern Ontario – Windsor Region afin de sensibiliser les gens à l’épilepsie.

Portrait de Michael Hone

Michael Hone

Directeur général,
Crossroads Childen’s Mental Health

Depuis 1988, Michael travaille aux services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse dans divers milieux, y compris la protection de l’enfance, la justice pour la jeunesse, l’éducation et la santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes. Il travaille au Crossroads Children’s Mental Health Centre (CCMHC) depuis 1996, et il en est le directeur général depuis janvier 2015. Il a obtenu sa certification Ceinture noire Lean et poursuit son parcours Lean au CCMHC.