Our youth advisory council (the Youth council) builds on the capacity of young people to improve child and youth mental health and addictions services across Ontario by speaking to, and acting on, issues that impact or are important to young people. The Youth council reflects our commitment to meaningful youth engagement; we rely on young people's perspectives as well as integral input, expertise and guidance to ensure our policies, approaches, initiatives and other work are responsive to the evolving needs of young people.

Member responsibilities

The purpose of the Youth council includes:

  • advising on our strategic directions and activities
  • empowering youth representatives to lead and inform key decisions in the development, implementation and evaluation of our initiatives
  • building meaningful, professional relationships between council members
  • augmenting the capacity of our youth engagement team by acting as a mechanism for project support, when needed
  • ensuring alignment with our strategic advisory council through consistent youth liaison representing both councils

Meet the Youth council

The Youth council consists of about a dozen diverse youth from across the province.

Portrait of Abby Lopez

Abby Lopez

Abby Lopez is studying social work, with a minor in children and youth studies at Wilfrid Laurier University in Brantford.Currently working as a youth advocate for Woodview: Mental Health and Autism Services, Abby is interested in making a career in youth mental health.She became interested in the mental health sector when she was diagnosed with a mental illness at age 14. She hopes her own experience battling through the ups and downs of the mental health system will help her help others. In her spare time, Abby loves to paint and read.

Portrait of  Anvita Desai

Anvita Desai

Anvita Desai is studying knowledge integration and cognitive science at the University of Waterloo. She is passionate about working in the mental health sector and has volunteered with us since she was 15! After graduating, Avita plans to pursue a master’s degree in social work and hopes to continue to dedicate her time and efforts to initiatives that value youth engagement, health equity, harm reduction and accessibility. In her free time, Anvita enjoys reading, swimming and listening to true crime podcasts.

Portrait of Brett Recollet

 Brett Recollet

Brett Recollet is studying Indigenous social work at Laurentian University, while working part time as an Indigenous support worker for the Rainbow District School Board. As a First Nations man from the Whitefish River First Nation, Brett has a strong understanding of what mental health looks like for Indigenous populations. He has been working with us for six years, beginning initially as a youth engagement facilitator. For fun, Brett enjoys playing volleyball, swimming, golfing and spending time with his family and friends.

Portrait of Christina Robert

Christina Robert

Christina Robert is studying kinesiology at Laurentian University and hopes to become a dermatologist. She has been involved in student council and peer mentoring in university and worked with organizations like the Track North Athletic Club. As a competitive athlete, Christina experienced her own mental health challenges and witnessed how mental health concerns impacted other young people in school, sports and day-to-day life. She is now passionate about helping friends, peers and family members become the best version of themselves. As a hobby, Christina likes capturing beautiful moments through photography.

Portrait of Deepika Kumar

Deepika Kumar

Deepika Kumar is completing her master’s degree in public policy and administration (MPPA) at Ryerson University. She is passionate about developing and enhancing evidence-based government policies to offer the most appropriate health programs and services for children and young people. In the future, Deepika hopes to fight mental health challenges by promoting stronger labour market outcomes for young people and working collaboratively with community stakeholders to address the social determinants of health. During her free time, she enjoys travelling and spending time with family and friends.

Portait of Erika Dupuis

Erika Dupuis

Erika Dupuis is a registered social worker, working in the mental health and addictions sector in the Greater Toronto Area. They also work with the Toronto Youth Food Policy Council, the International Youth Alliance for Family Planning and the Canadian Students for Sensible Drug Policy. Erika’s main interests include food justice, reproductive justice and harm reduction. They’re also keen to ensure that healthcare policies and programs meaningfully address young people’s concerns. For fun, Erika enjoys cooking, trying new coffee blends and hiking at local conservation areas.

Portrait of Gagandeep Virdi

Gagandeep Virdi

Gagandeep Virdi is currently pursuing her master’s degree in public health at Brock University. Highly motivated and passionate about youth engagement and health, Gagandeep became interested in the mental health sector early in university, while taking mental health courses. She began working at the Lynwood Charlton Centre and Thrive Child and Youth Trauma Centre to get hands-on experience and is certified in mental health first aid. Gagan is also accomplished in tae kwon do: she was on Team Canada in 2010.

Portrait of Katlyn Kotila

Katlyn Kotila

Katlyn Kotila is pursuing her undergraduate degree in political science and communications at Laurentian University. Born and raised in northern Ontario, she became passionate about improving mental health infrastructure because of her own experiences accessing services. Through public speaking and volunteer work, she uses her story as a suicide-loss survivor and a member of the 2SLGBTQI+ community to advocate for greater intersectionality and accessibility within the mental health sector. Katlyn’s favourite way to rest and recharge is by playing video games.

Portrait of Layne Pattinson

Layne Pattinson

Layne Pattison is studying nursing at Laurentian University and plans to focus her career on providing accessible mental health and addictions services for Indigenous peoples. As a Aatikameksheng Anishnawbek First Nations woman with first-hand experience accessing mental health services, Layne has a deep understanding of what accessing health looks like for Indigenous populations and she is passionate about improving it. When she has free time, Layne loves to spend it outdoors, hanging out with friends and riding horses.

Portrait of Mahalia Dixon

Mahalia Dixon

Mahalia Dixon is a young person from Toronto who is passionate about mental health, harm reduction and youth engagement. She has been involved with mental health systems as a client, volunteer and staff member. Mahalia is also a youth advisor for the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health. She is always eager to provide holistic support to young people through a non-judgmental, inclusive and empowering practice. In her free time, Mahalia loves to read, write and spend time with friends.

Portrait of Nicholas Jakubiak

Nicholas Jakubiak

Nick Jakubiak has been involved with social work for more than three years and plans to obtain a Bachelor of Social Work. He found this passion as a client at Skylark, which opened the door to many volunteer and work opportunities in mental health and harm reduction communities, including this one. In his free time, Nick enjoys listening to rap music and is currently learning German.

Portrait of Raissa Aqila Amany

Raissa Aqila Amany

Raissa Amany is studying health sciences at the University of Ottawa. She is interested in public health, health equity and access, specifically within the mental health sector. Having personal experience of the mental health system in Ontario, Raissa advocates to reduce barriers and improve youth engagement sector-wide. She has worked with various organizations including the Youth Services Bureau, the Federation of Canadian Secondary Students/Fédération des élèves du secondaire au Canada and the Ottawa Hospital and even founded her own organization, called ConnectSTEM. For fun, Raissa enjoys binge-watching medical shows, drinking bubble tea and trying out the latest food trends.

Portrait of William McCormick

William McCormick

William McCormick is studying health promotion with a minor in communications at Laurentian University. He hopes to become a psychiatrist. William has a passion for mental health advocacy and has worked with various organizations, including the Myths and Mirrors community arts program and the Sudbury Chief’s youth advisory council. He has also taken an active role in developing outreach events aimed at destigmatizing and raising awareness for mental health issues, such as the Defeat Depression walk. In his spare time, William enjoys playing and watching sports — primarily baseball.

Notre Conseil consultatif des jeunes (Conseil de la jeunesse) s'appuie sur la capacité des jeunes d'améliorer les services de santé mentale et de lutte contre les dépendances chez les enfants et les jeunes en donnant la parole aux jeunes et en agissant sur des questions qui sont importantes pour eux. Le Conseil de la jeunesse reflète notre dévouement à l'égard d'un engagement significatif des jeunes; nous comptons sur le point de vue des jeunes ainsi que sur leur contribution, leur expertise et leurs conseils pour nous assurer que nos politiques, nos méthodes, nos initiatives et nos autres travaux répondent aux besoins changeants des jeunes.

Les responsabilités des membres

L'objectif du Conseil de la jeunesse est le suivant :

  • donner des conseils sur nos orientations stratégiques et nos activités;
  • offrir la possibilité aux représentants des jeunes de diriger et d'orienter les décisions clés portant sur le développement, la mise en œuvre et l'évaluation de nos initiatives;
  • établir des relations professionnelles significatives entre les membres du conseil;
  • augmenter la capacité de notre équipe d'engagement des jeunes en agissant comme mécanisme d'appui au projet, si nécessaire;
  • assurer l'harmonisation avec le conseil consultatif stratégique par le biais d'une liaison jeunesse cohérente avec les représentants des deux conseils.

À la rencontre de notre Conseil de la jeunesse

Le Conseil de la jeunesse est composé de jeunes de partout en province.

Portrait d'Abby Lopez

 Abby Lopez

Abby Lopez étudie en travail social et complèteune mineure en études sur les enfants et les jeunes à l’Université Wilfrid Laurier de Brantford. Elle travaille actuellement à titre d’intervenante jeunesse auprès de l’organisme Woodview: Mental Health and Autism Services et souhaite faire carrière en santé mentale chez les jeunes. Elle a commencé à s’intéresser à la santé mentale lorsqu’elle a obtenu un diagnostic de maladie mentale à l’âge de 14 ans. Elle espère que sa propre expérience des bienfaits et des lacunes du système de santé mentale l’aidera à aider les autres. Dans ses temps libres, Abby aime peindre et lire.

Portrait d'Anvita Desai

 Anvita Desai

Anvita Desai étudie en intégration du savoir et en sciences cognitives à l’Université de Waterloo. Elle a une passion pour la santé mentale et est bénévole avec nous depuis l’âge de 15 ans! Lorsqu’elle aura obtenu son diplôme, Avita prévoit poursuivre ses études de maîtrise en service social et espère continuer à consacrer son temps et ses efforts à des initiatives favorisant l’engagement des jeunes, l’équité en santé, la réduction des méfaits et l’accessibilité. Dans ses temps libres, Anvita aime lire, nager et écouter desbaladoscrime-réalité.

Portrait de Brett Recollet

Brett Recollet

Brett Recollet étudie en service social auprès des Autochtones à l’Université Laurentienne, tout en étant travailleur de soutien autochtone à temps partiel pour le Rainbow District School Board. En tant qu’autochtone membre de la Première Nation de Whitefish River, Brett comprend très bien ce que vivent les membres des collectivités autochtones qui veulent accéder à des soins de santé mentale. Il travaille avec nous depuis six ans et a d’abord occupé le poste d’animateur en engagement des jeunes. Pour s’amuser, Brett aime jouer au volleyball et au golf, nager et passer du temps avec sa famille et ses amis.

Portait de Christina Robert

Christina Robert

Christina Robert étudie en kinésiologie à l’Université Laurentienne et espère devenir dermatologue. Elle a fait partie d’un conseil étudiant et d’un programme de mentorat par les pairs à l’université, et elle a travaillé avec des organismes comme le Track North Athletic Club. En tant qu’athlète de compétition, Christina a connu ses propres problèmes de santé mentale et a été témoin des répercussions de tels problèmes sur d’autres jeunes à l’école, dans les sports et dans la vie quotidienne. Elle a maintenant à cœur d’aider ses amis, ses pairs et les membres de sa famille à devenir la meilleure version d’eux-mêmes. Dans ses passe-temps, Christina aime photographier les beaux moments.

Portrait de Deepika Kumar

Deepika Kumar

Deepika Kumar termine sa maîtrise en politique publique et gouvernance à l’Université Ryerson. Elle met beaucoup de ferveur à élaborer et à améliorer des politiques gouvernementales fondées sur des données probantes pour offrir les programmes et les services de santé les plus appropriés aux enfants et aux jeunes. Dans l’avenir, Deepika espère lutter contre les problèmes de santé mentale en favorisant l’amélioration de la situation sur le marché du travail pour les jeunes et en travaillant en collaboration avec des intervenants communautaires pour aborder les déterminants sociaux de la santé. Dans ses temps libres, elle aime voyager et passer du temps avec sa famille et ses amis.

Portrait d'Erika Dupuis

Erika Dupuis

Erika Dupuis est une travailleuse sociale autorisée qui travaille dans le secteur de la santé mentale et de la lutte contre les dépendances dans la région du Grand Toronto. Elle travaille également avec le Toronto Youth Food Policy Council, l’International Youth Alliance for Family Planning et l’organisme Canadian Students for Sensible Drug Policy. Les principaux intérêts d’Erika comprennent la justice alimentaire, la justice en matière de reproduction et la réduction des méfaits. Erika tient également à ce que les politiques et les programmes de soins de santé tiennent compte des préoccupations des jeunes. Pour le plaisir, Erika aime cuisiner, essayer de nouveaux mélanges à café et faire de la randonnée dans les aires de conservation locales.

Portrait de Gagandeep Virdi

Gagandeep Virdi

Gagandeep Virdi poursuit actuellement ses études de maîtrise en santé publique à l’Université Brock. Très motivée et passionnée par l’engagement et la santé des jeunes, Gagandeep s’est dirigée vers le secteur de la santé mentale au début de ses études universitaires en suivant des cours liés à la santé mentale. Elle a commencé à travailler au Lynwood Charlton Centre et au Thrive Child and Youth Trauma Centre pour acquérir de l’expérience pratique et est certifiée en premiers soins en santé mentale. Gagan est aussi accomplie en taeknowdo et a fait partie d’Équipe Canada en 2010.

Portrait de Katlyn Kotila

Katlyn Kotila

Katlyn Kotila poursuit ses études de premier cycle en sciences politiques et en communications à l’Université Laurentienne. Née et élevée dans le nord de l’Ontario, elle s’est passionnée pour l’amélioration de l’infrastructure en santé mentale en raison de ses propres expériences d’accès aux services. Dans le cadre de son travail de porte-parole et de bénévole, elle utilise son histoire en tant que survivante au suicide d’un proche et membre de la communauté 2SLGBTQI+ pour plaider en faveur d’une plus grande intersectionnalité et accessibilité dans le secteur de la santé mentale. Katlyn préfère se reposer et se ressourcer en jouant à des jeux vidéo.

Portrait de Layne Pattinson

Layne Pattinson

Layne Pattison étudie en soins infirmiers à l’Université Laurentienne et prévoit d’orienter sa carrière vers la prestation de services de santé mentale et de lutte contre les dépendances accessibles aux Autochtones. En tant que femme membre de la Première Nation Atikameksheng Anishnawbek, qui a elle-même eu accès à des services de santé mentale, Layne comprend parfaitement ce que vivent les membres des collectivités autochtones qui veulent accéder à des soins de santé, et elle tient à améliorer la situation. Dans ses temps libres, Layne aime être à l’extérieur, passer du temps avec ses amis et faire de l’équitation.

Portrait de Mahalia Dixon

Mahalia Dixon

Mahalia Dixon est une jeune Torontoise passionnée par la santé mentale, la réduction des méfaits et l’engagement des jeunes. Elle connaît bien les systèmes de santé mentale pour y avoir été cliente, bénévole et membre du personnel. Mahalia est également conseillère jeunesse au Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale (CAMH). Elle est toujours désireuse de fournir un soutien holistique aux jeunes grâce à une approche exempte de jugement, inclusive et axée sur l’autonomisation. Dans ses temps libres, Mahalia aime lire, écrire et passer du temps avec ses amis.

Portrait de Nicholas Jakubiak

Nicholas Jakubiak

Nick Jakubiak œuvre dans le domaine du travail social depuis plus de trois ans et prévoit obtenir un baccalauréat en service social. Il a découvert cette passion alors qu’il était client de l’organisme Skylark, qui lui a ouvert la voie vers de nombreuses occasions de bénévolat et de travail dans le domaine de la santé mentale et de la réduction des méfaits, notamment avec notre organsime. Dans ses temps libres, Nick aime écouter du rap et il apprend actuellement l’allemand.

Portrait de Raissa Aqila Amany

Raissa Aqila Amany

Raissa Amany étudie en sciences de la santé à l’Université d’Ottawa. Elle s’intéresse à la santé publique, à l’équité en matière de santé et à l’accès aux soins, en particulier dans le secteur de la santé mentale. Après avoir vécu une expérience personnelle dans le système de santé mentale en Ontario, Raissa préconise la réduction des obstacles et un plus grand engagement des jeunes dans l’ensemble du secteur. Elle a travaillé avec divers organismes, dont le Bureau des services à la jeunesse, la Fédération des élèves secondaires du Canada et l’Hôpital d’Ottawa. Elle a même fondé son propre organisme, appelé ConnectSTEM. Pour s’amuser, Raissa aime regarder en rafale des émissions dans le domaine médical, boire du thé aux perles et essayer les dernières tendances alimentaires.

Portrait de William McCormick

William McCormick

William McCormick étudie en promotion de la santé et fait aussi une mineure en communication à l’Université Laurentienne. Il espère devenir psychiatre. William se passionne pour la défense des droits en santé mentale et a travaillé avec divers organismes, notamment dans le cadre du programme d’arts de Myths and Mirrors et avec le conseil consultatif des jeunes du chef de Sudbury. Il a également joué un rôle actif en organisant des activités visant à déstigmatiser les problèmes de santé mentale et à accroître la sensibilisation à ceux-ci, comme la marche Surmontez la dépression. Dans ses temps libres, William aime pratiquer des sports et les regarder, surtout le baseball.